Breakfast!

Happy Sunday everybody! I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July yesterday. I want to apologize for not posting for the past three weeks. My life got really busy and I wasn’t able to post or cook anything. I intended to post last week but the power went out at my house so I wasn’t able to post again last week. This week I have a little bit of a different post. I am currently attending culinary school and I have been cooking a lot of fun things in my classes there. This week I wanted to share with you a few of the breakfast foods that I made. If you are interested in any of the recipes that I didn’t post here, leave a comment and I can post them for you. Here is what I have made so far:

IMG_1273

Eggs Benedict

IMG_1268

Crepes with a berry compote

IMG_1263

Buttermilk pancakes with a berry compote

IMG_1265

Pan-fried eggs top to bottom: Sunny-side up, over easy, medium

IMG_1270

French style roll omelet

IMG_1266

Scrambled eggs

Buttermilk Pancakes

  • 1 lb. Flour
  • 2 Tbsp. Granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 ½ tsp. Salt
  • 1 ½ pt. Buttermilk
  • 2 oz. Unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 Eggs, beaten
  • Clarified butter
  1. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together
  2. Combine the buttermilk, melted butter and eggs and add them to the dry ingredients. Mix just until the ingredients are combined.
  3. If the griddle is not well seasoned, coat it lightly with clarified butter. Once its temperature reaches 375° F, drop the batter onto it in 2 fl. oz. portions using a ladle, portion scoop or batter portioner.
  4. When bubbles appear on the pancake’s surface and the bottom is browned, flip the pancake to finish cooking.

Crepes

  • 6 Whole eggs
  • 6 Egg yolks
  • 12 fl. oz. Water
  • 18 fl. oz. Milk
  • 6 oz. Granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 14 oz. Flour
  • 5 oz. Unsalted butter, melted
  • Clarified Butter
  1. Whisk together the eggs, egg yolks, water and milk. Add the sugar, salt and flour; whisk together. Stir in the melted butter. Cover and set aside to rest for at least 1 hour before cooking.
  2. Heat a small sauté or crepe pan; brush lightly with clarified butter. Pour in 1 to 1 ½ fl. oz. of batter; swirl to coat the bottom of the pan evenly.
  3. Cook the crepe until set and light brown, approximately 30 seconds. Flip it over and cook a few seconds longer. Remove from the pan. Repeat the process until all the batter is used.
2 thoughts on “Breakfast!

Leave a Reply

